Day: March 6, 2010

– Jason I love you. Kandya Mad

Model C3 'Jason' chair

I had to share this gorgeous Jason chair with you by Jacobs & Guille for Kandya
(1953). Simply stunning. 

An early production example of the 1953 model re design. Single sheet beech laminate seat, onto white painted steel rod base finishing in metal feet.

This was Frank Guille’s first commission for Kandya, where he was appointed design consultant. A set of six is going to set me back in the region £1250. I think I’ll wait until my toddler is a little older before investing in these, and just admire from afar. As I don’t much fancy seeing them after she’s attacked them with the point of a pencil for five minutes when bored and I am making dinner!

Trimma cabinet Frank Guille for Kandya Ltd 1956

 Whilst I am sharing my design passions here is a beautiful cabinet I just love, the Trimma cabinet again by Frank Guille for Kandya.  It is solid beech, painted and veneered plywood with glass. An important and rare example of Guille’s functional yet refined designed ideals alas I missed out on this treasure. I’m really after a lovely 50s pale blue white and black one which I saw in a house in Brighton some while back. Great for displaying the vintage ceramics with cupboard doors pulled back for a sneaky peak. I’m still searching high and low for one even vaguely similar, I appreciate it will cost me dearly, but I can dream. Until then, there’s Ikea which is far more toddler friendly!